Whispers in the Dark: Get Ready for #HappyHolidays #99cents #Romance @Kris_Bock

Whispers Holiday Sale

Whispers in the Dark: Archaeology student Kylie Hafford craves adventure when she heads to the remote Puebloan ruins of Lost Valley, Colorado, to excavate. Romance isn’t in her plans, but she soon meets two sexy men: Danesh looks like a warrior from the Pueblo’s ancient past, and Sean is a charming, playful tourist. The summer heats up as Kylie uncovers mysteries, secrets, and terrors in the dark. She’ll need all her strength and wits to survive—and to save the man she’s come to love.Whispers cover

Whispers in the Dark, romantic suspense set in the Four Corners region of the Southwest, has a 4.2-star average. This novel will appeal to fans of Mary Stewart, Barbara Michaels, and Victoria Holt. It stands alone and is not part of a series.

Whispers in the Dark is on sale Nov. 19-24 – only 99 cents for the Kindle! Get it now!

Excerpt:

I hit something, bounced, scraped, and finally landed with a thud that rattled my whole body.

I lay in the dark, blinded, my head ringing, pain washing over me in great waves. My lungs screamed for air, but it seemed like I’d forgotten how to breathe.

Finally I dragged in a breath. I closed my eyes and focused on breathing, waiting for the world to settle into place.

Rain misted my face, so I must be lying on my back. My head felt heavier than my feet. I shifted and realized I was lying on a slope with my head pointing down.

I tried to concentrate on those little details. I couldn’t handle anything more. Panic fluttered around me, but I refused to think about anything but the present moment. I flexed my fingers. When that worked, I moved my hands over my body, up to my face. My head throbbed, but when I felt around my skull, I didn’t find any serious damage.

I had to move. The thought battered at the back of my mind, a panicky whisper that I tried to ignore. I had to run. Hide. He was after me. I had to get away.

I clenched my teeth hard, as if I could bite back the pain and fear. Memories crowded in, like panicked ghosts wailing at the edges of my mind. Guns, strange men. Dangerous, threatening men. Danesh trying to protect me, the gun going off. My own helpless, panicked flight. Helpless. Worthless. Unable to fight, unable even to scream.

I tried to focus on this one moment, the physical sensations of my aching body as I lay on the hard, damp ground. The cold against my bare calves, the lump of rock pressing into my shoulder. That focus helped keep me grounded in the present. Never mind that this present wasn’t a place I wanted to be. I had to deal with reality. But I didn’t have to also deal with nightmares. Not now.

The little whimpers in my throat faded to short gasping breaths. I held on to this moment, this single slice of reality. Now to move forward. I didn’t have to like it, but I had to do it. One step at a time.

Get Whispers in the Dark on sale for 99 cents for the Kindle!

Kris Bock banner

About the Author:

Kris Bock writes novels of suspense and romance involving outdoor adventures and Southwestern landscapes. In Counterfeits, stolen Rembrandt paintings bring danger to a small New Mexico town. What We Found is a romantic mystery about a young woman who finds a murder victim in the woods. The Mad Monk’s Treasure follows the hunt for a long-lost treasure in the New Mexico desert. In The Dead Man’s Treasure, estranged relatives compete to reach a buried treasure by following a series of complex clues. Read excerpts at www.krisbock.com or visit her Amazon page.

Kris BockConnect with Kris online at:

Kris Bock Blog: The Southwest Armchair Traveler
Kris Bock’s Amazon page
Kris Bock on GoodReads
Kris Bock on Facebook
Kris Bock on Twitter

Scorpio, The Sign Behind the Crime series by Ronnie Allen #HappyHolidays

Happy Holidays buttonPlease welcome Ronnie Allen, author of Scorpio, Book 3 of The Sign Behind the Crime series to kick off our #HappyHolidays author exchange.

Scorpio book cover

Blurb:

With a mind as strong as twisted steel, Scorpio obsessed Henry Slater, suave, sophisticated, sexy, intelligent, and wealthy is the perfect man—except to women who tell him what he doesn’t want to hear.

Dr. John Trenton is called back to NYC for a case close to his heart, while NYPD Detective Samantha “Sam” Wright and Dr. Frank Khaos, conflicted about their on-again-off-again relationship, take on another case—a serial killer who’s orchestrated sixteen murders across the United States over a nine-year period. The seventeenth victim is Sam’s best friend, Carrie Baines. When forensic science connects Frank to Slater, Frank is pushed to delve into his past, something he swore never to do. Meanwhile, due to the interstate nature of the crimes the FBI gets involved, convincing Sam to go undercover. But Slater is clever, and Sam is no match for him. Will her psychic skills and police training be enough to survive this close encounter with a killer, or will she end up as his eighteenth victim? And even if she lives, is her relationship with Frank really over?

Excerpt:

His reaction took her totally by surprise. How could he do this to her?

“Any more good news?” The sarcasm rolled off his tongue. “That’s not what I’m concerned with.”

“Then what?”

“The way he looked at you.”

“Don’t worry about it. We’re adults here.”

“Exactly.”

“Frank, please. Can’t you deal with this?”

He did a double take. “Know what, Sam? No. I can’t. And I didn’t realize you’re so emotionally disconnected.” He checked the clock and blew out a deep breath. “As soon as it hits daylight, I think it’s best that you go back to your place.” He rolled over onto his left side, his back facing her.

“What are you saying, Frank?

He barely turned his head. “Use your psychic intuition to figure out what I’m saying.”

“You’re breaking up with me?”

“I think we need to distance ourselves. It’s been too hot and heavy these past eight weeks, anyway. You’re not the woman I thought I knew.”

“How in hell are we supposed to distance ourselves? We work cases together. Every day, if I have to remind you.”

“Keep it formal. I’m now Dr. Khaos from you, and you’re Detective Wright from me.”

“But—”

“No buts. I’m done. We’re done.” His stomach twisted as he uttered those last two words.


Buy links:

Amazon US http://Amzn.to/2zJwoy1
Amazon UK http://amzn.to/2zPFnhk
Amazon CA http://amzn.to/2laNLEC
B&N http://bit.ly/2yTmPiw

Ronnie Allen authorAbout the Author:

Ronnie Allen is a NYC native transplanted to rural Central Florida nine years ago. A teacher in The New York City Department of Education for 33 years, she also obtained a license as NYS School Psychologist. In later education, she added certification as a Board Certified Holistic Health Practitioner, earning a Ph.D. in Parapsychic Sciences. Ronnie uses her expertise in education, the paranormal, and psychic development throughout her novels. She’s an advocate for children, and their health and well-being. This is evident in the themes of her novels and in the dedications. Scorpio is the third book in The Sign Behind the Crime series.

Find Ronnie at:

Website: http://www.ronnieallennovel.com
Facebook: http://Facebook.com/ronnieanovelist
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ronnieanovelist
Instagram: http://instagram.com/ronnieanovelist